Spring Reads 2011

Chicago Cubs Cap Insignia

Image via Wikipedia

We have been trying to coax the warm weather to the Midwest but Mother Nature is being pretty fickle these days!  I’m hoping by posting my list of Spring Reads she’ll decide to fetch some of the warmer Southern temperatures and shift it up here.  I know Spring arrived last week but I thought I’d announce my newest reading list in conjunction with the Chicago Cubs‘ Home Opener which is today!  As many of you know I bleed Cubbie Blue and I’m ready to continue my undying love and devotion for my Chicago Cubs.  If you haven’t had a chance to see my March WGNTV/Cubs’ Favorite Memory commercial promoting the upcoming 2011 Cubs’ season here’s your chance!!  I’m dedicating this post to two of my favorite Cubs’ fans who will be watching the Cubs from above – hopefully together-  my Dad, Fred Vicini Jr. and Number 10, Ron Santo.

Looking at my extensive list below, you can see I’ve been diligently reading numerous book reviews over the last several months.  Some of these books will have their own special separate reviews in my upcoming posts.  I love to hear from you as to which ones you’ve decided to add to your reading lists.  I always enjoy reading and responding to your comments.

Best to all of you as we usher in the season of Spring &  to Cubs’ fans everywhere let me hear you sing: “Go Cubs Go!”

Adult Fiction:

The Bird Sisters: A Novel The Bird Sisters by Rebecca Rasmussen

Crestmont Crestmont by Holly Weiss

Crooked Letter, Crooked LetterCrooked Letter, Crooked Letter by Tom Franklin (Nominee for 2011 Edgar Award)

The Death Instinct The Death Instinct by Jed Rebenfeld

A Discovery of Witches (All So...A Discovery of Witches: (All Souls Trilogy #1) by Deb Harkness

EvenfallEvenfall by Liz Michalski

Exposure: A Novel Exposure by Therese Fowler

Faithful Place Faithful Place by Tana French (Nominee for 2011 Edgar Award)

The Hangman's Daughter The Hangman’s Daughter by Oliver Potzch, Lee Chadeayne (Translator)

The Priest's Graveyard The Priest’s Graveyard by Ted Dekker

The Quickening The Quickening by Michelle Hoover (Nominated for 2011 Indies Choice in category for Adult Debut Book of the Year)

The Red Garden The Red Garden by Alice Hoffman

A Red Herring Without Mustard:... The Red Herring Without Mustard (Flavia de Luce #3) by Alan Bradley

Receive Me FallingReceive Me Falling by Erika Robuck

The Stormchasers Stormchasers by Jenna Blum

These Things HiddenThese Things Hidden by Heather Gudenkauf

The Weird Sisters The Weird Sisters by Eleanor Brown

Adult Non-Fiction:

American Rose: A Nation Laid B...American Rose: A Nation Laid Bare: The Life and Times of Gypsy Rose Lee by Karen Abbott

And I Shall Have Some Peace Th... And I Shall Have Some Peace There: Trading in the Fast Lane for My Own Dirt Road by Margaret Roach

Cut!: Hollywood Murders, Accid... Cut! Hollywood Murders, Accidents, and Other Tragedies by Denise Imwold

Ghost Hunters: William James a...Ghost Hunters: William James and the Search for Scientific Proof of Life after Death by Deborah Blum

In the Garden of Beasts: Love,...In the Garden of Beasts: Love, Terror, and an American Family in Hitler’s Berlin  by Erik Larson

It's Always Personal: Emotion... It’s Always Personal: Emotion in the New Workplace by Anne Kraemer

The Killer of Little Shepherds...The Killer of Little Shepherds: A True Crime Story and the Birth of Forensic Science by Douglas Starr

Rawhide Down: The Near Assassi... Rawhide Down: The Near Assassination of Ronald Reagan by Del Quentin Wilbur

Young Adult:

Blessed (Tantalize, #3) Blessed (Tantalize #3) by Cynthia Leitich Smith

The Boneshaker The Boneshaker by Kate Milford

Dash & Lily's Book of DaresDash and Lily’s Book of Daresby Rachel Cohn and David Levithan (Nominated for 2011 Indies Choice in category for Young Adult Book of the Year)

The Fates Will Find Their Way:... The Fates Will Find Their Way by Hannah Pittard

I Don't Want to Kill You (John...I Don’t Want to Kill   by Dan WellsYou (John Cleaver #3)

Last Bus Out Last Bus Out by Beck McDowell

Middle Grades:

No Passengers Beyond This Poin... No Passengers Beyond This Pointby Gennifer Choldenko

The Strange Case of Origami Yo...The Strange Case of Origami Yoda by Tom Angleberger

A Tale Dark and GrimmA Tale Dark and Grimm by Adam Gidwitz ( Nominated for 2011 Indies Choice in category for Middle Reader – E.B. White Read-Aloud Award)

Primary:

Bink and GollieBink and Gollie by Kate DiCamillo and Allison McGhee

The Invisible ManThe Invisible Man by Arthur Yorinks

Just in Time, Abraham Lincoln Just in Time, Abraham Lincoln by Patricia Polacco

LMNO Peas LMNO Peas by Keith Baker

Mudkin (Carolrhoda Picture Boo...Mudkin by Stephen Gammell

16 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

16 responses to “Spring Reads 2011

  1. What a fabulous list, and of course I am SO VERY honored to be a part of it. I am so thrilled this morning. Thank you. Xox

    • Morning Rebecca!
      I knew you’d love seeing The Bird Sisters on the list! You’ll be even happier when I post a very special review of your book later next week!
      Happy I could make you smile!
      Kathy

  2. It is a great honor to be on this list. Thank you so much!

    • Happy to make your day Erika!
      One of my library aides is also reading Receive Me Falling and is really enjoying it! FYI – it will also be featured as an April/May Parker’s Picks too. 🙂
      Best,
      Kathy

  3. Thanks so much! What a great list and so wonderful to be included.

  4. Beth Hoffman

    Fabulous list, Kathy! I’ve read many on your list and look forward to more.

    Happy weekend!

  5. Thanks so much for including me on this list! (And I’m looking forward to reading several of the other books as well. I’ll probably be arm-wrestling my daughter for A Tale Dark and Grimm.)

    • Hi Liz,

      Happy to hear! Yes, doesn’t A Tale Dark and Grimm look fabulous?! Pull rank over your daughter – that’s what I used to do when all three of my girls were younger. 🙂

      Best,
      Kathy

  6. Great list, Mom! I’ve always known you were the best book recommendation resource in the land—now others do too. It adds to your credibility that authors of these books are commenting here. I think you’re on to something big! A love of reading CAN make a difference. 🙂

    • Thanks Sarah!
      I’m glad you have always thought of me as your “favorite librarian” and book lover extraordinaire! 🙂
      My passion for reading has taken me down this wonderful path of book blogging and I love it! Thank you for encouraging me to pursue it.
      Love,
      Mom

  7. What the other ladies said. 🙂

  8. You’re certainly going to be busy. Have fun.

Leave a Reply

