Kindle Thoughts from 7th and 8th Graders!

Here is an update from our Seneca Grade School 7th and 8th grade students who have been using the new Amazon Kindles for approximately two weeks in their Language/Literature classes.  Patrick Mish, CEO of M-EDGE Accessories graciously donated M-EDGE Leisure and Latitude Jackets for our newly purchased Kindles. Pictures of the donated Kindles are found at the end of the article. The students have written letters of appreciation to Mr. Mish which he’ll be receiving next week.  I thought you might enjoy what the students had to say about the Amazon Kindles, the M-EDGE Accessories Leisure and Latitude Jackets, and about Patrick Mish himself.  I was quite proud of what the students had to say!

  • The jackets keep the Kindles safe from scratches, keeps them clean, and safe.
  • The Kindles are awesome!
  • We are honored that we were given the spectacular Kindle jackets.
  • Our school is very privileged to receive the donated customized covers.
  • We love that the school name is embroidered on them.
  • The dictionary feature on the Kindle is a favorite among many students.
  • We love the text to speech feature on the Kindle!
  • We enjoy how quickly a book you want to read can be downloaded.
  • I like the Back Button feature on the Kindle.
  • These are amazingly awesome and cool Kindle jackets!
  • The Kindles will help to enhance our learning & the ability to change the font size is awesome.
  • How did you (Patrick Mish) think of donating Kindle Jackets to our school? It was such a nice thing to do!
  • Patrick Mish, YOU are a great person and your company must be AWESOME!
  • The Kindle Jackets protect the Kindles.
  • The pocket to keep the cord in is a great feature on the Kindle Jacket.
  • I like that I don’t have to take the Kindle out of the jacket because it has the clear plastic cover over it.
  • Patrick Mish, how did you come up with such a great idea? You are a genius!
  • The Kindles and the Kindle Jackets MAKE READING FUN!
  • I like the Highlighting feature on the Kindle.
  • The Kindle is cooler than a book!
  • The M-Edge Kindle Jackets protect the kindles from damage and fingerprints & we love that they are in our school colors.

The M-EDGE Latitude Jacket will be used by the 8th Grade Students:

 The M-EDGE Leisure Jackets will be used for the 7th Grade Students:

14 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

14 responses to “Kindle Thoughts from 7th and 8th Graders!

  1. What I want to know is if they find reading more enjoyable on the kindle. This has been reported to me by various people who have reported if they had known (for example) how thick THE HELP was, they might have never picked it up! But with the Kindle, well, they just downloaded it and read and read until they were done. They were shocked when they saw how large the book was “in real life” and felt “proud” that they had read such a big book.

    So yay for the cool covers, but what are the kids saying about the experience of the kindle itself?

    xoxoRASJ
    Lessons From Teachers and Twits
    http://rasjacobson.wordpress.com

    • Hi Renee!
      You’re absolutely correct on your comments about students now are not challenged by the length of a book! Once they read the description of the book they decide if they want to read it since it interests them. You don’t hear them saying, “I want a skinny/short book to read” anymore!
      I will be posting more information on their Kindle experiences in the upcoming months. So far though they like using the dictionary feature, the ability to change the font size, the highlighting feature, and most importantly if it’s a popular book, for example, The Hunger Games, they don’t need to wait to for it to be returned because it’s available on their Kindle.
      Thanks for stopping by!
      Kathy

  2. Hi Kathy!

    I’m considering a proposal of purchasing Kindles for a 5th grade after-school club at my school. I’m trying to figure out what the budget would be…on how many Kindles can you put one book? e.g., if a book is 9.99, is that 9.99 x 80 Kindles? or can you put one purchased copy on multiple Kindles?

    Thanks so much…LOVE your blog!!!

    Best,
    Melissa Thomson

    • Hi Melissa!

      Glad you found your answer to your Kindle question. If you have any other questions, please email me or check out the many articles at my blog roll as well as within my blog itself. So far it’s been a success.
      Thank you for the compliment with regards to my blog! I’m so glad I began it nearly a year ago!

      By the way, the students love the Keena Ford books! Did you know it’s on our Illinios Monarch Nominee List for this year? I have all of them displayed for the entire school year. I’ll be reading Keena aloud to the 2nd graders shortly.

      Happy Writing to You!
      Kathy

  3. Never mind! I just found the answer to my question in the SLJ article about your project. Sorry I didn’t read more carefully! 🙂 MT

  4. Charlene Simmons

    Do you have a copy of your Kindle checkout policy? We would like to see it!

  5. Hi,
    I am applying for a grant for Ipad’s AND Kindles that would be on a loan-out basis. However, I am in an urban school–Atlantic City (grades K-8) and need to have some sort of policy in place. So far, I think I could select students that would definitely return them–thus motivating others to want to check out them as well. Through Buffy Hamilton’s site I noticed that you had documents that were created by you to avoid the trap of being lost, stolen, etc.
    I just don’t know where to start–recently, through Donorschoose (as of 11/15) I had donated 2 Ipods and Sony E-reader…Need some advice and steps to move the reading 2.0 in the direction that you and Buffy have..
    Thank you so much in advance for your support/advice..
    Jennifer Jamison

    • Hi Jennifer!
      Thanks so much for visiting my blog site! I just sent our policy to you. I think you’ll see it covers many aspects for e-readers and also keeping our the main points of our Technology Acceptable Use Policy as well.
      Please feel free to contact me again with any other questions.
      Best,
      Kathy

  6. Hello Kathy,
    I just purchased 6 Nooks for our high school library. I will be checking them out to students (starting with my book club). We are defining our policies for them, and developing a letter for parents to sign. I saw a letter Buffy Hamilton had credited to you (parent permission for Kindles), and would like to ask if I may adapt it as she credits hers as an adaptation of yours. I will, of course, credit you in the footer.

    • Hi Mary,

      Yes, please do! I’m always eager to help other schools, teachers, and librarians with e-book information. If you have any other questions please feel free to email me.

      Best,
      Kathy

      • Hello Kathy,
        I have the same question as Mary. May I use your letter that another librarian from Clarkston Junior High adapted from your letter about e-reader permission?

        Thank You!

      • Hi Brenda,
        Yes. I’m happy to help you out. 🙂
        Good luck with your e-reader program! If I can help you out with anything else, please let me know.

        Kathy

  7. Hi Kathy,

    Hope you’re not getting tired of the same request, but I have just purchased three Kindles for my library and would like to also adapt your permission letter. Also, do you have any sage advice for starting a program such as this?

    Thanks,

    Nancy

    • Morning Nancy,
      Yes, please go ahead and use our permission letter & adapt it to suit your needs.
      I would be more than happy to discuss starting a Kindle program with you!
      I’ll send my other email address to you.
      Best,
      Kathy

Leave a Reply

