Who’s Your Favorite Literary Fictional Character???

Recently as I was cleaning out some files I came across an article I had printed out from several years which listed the 100 best characters in fiction since 1900.  Bingo!  I thought this would make an excellent question to pose to my friends and followers on Twitter, friends on Facebook, co-workers, family and friends.  I wasn’t surprised when people eagerly shared their answers with me when I asked the question: “Who’s Your Favorite Literary Fictional Character?”  At first some said they would really have to think about it and get back to me because it was such a difficult decision to make.  For many, they knew instantaneously who they were going to decide upon.  I even had a mother and her son choose the exact same character of Jay Gatsby.  The mother and her son happened to be my sister, Beth, and my nephew, Joey!  Now that was pretty amazing to me!  To everyone who took the time to participate in my endeavor – thank you!

What makes a character stand out to people?  For me, my choice of favorite literary fictional character was Anne Shirley from the Anne of Green Gables Series by L.M. Montgomery.  These are a few impressions she left on me and what I learned from Anne to make her such a significant important character to me.  First and foremost Anne taught me the value of friendship and those special ties we develop with a particular person.  She referred to this elite group as “kindred spirits.”  We all can stop and think immediately who we consider to be on our list of “kindred spirits.”  Anne was an individualist.  She taught me it was all right to be a free thinker at a time when I thought it was best to go along with the crowd.  Anne chose the teaching profession.  At a young age I knew I would venture down that very same path – mainly because both of my parents were educators.  Anne Shirley’s other qualities which left an ever-lasting impact on me were her simplistic ideals, her determination, and the pleasure she took in life itself.  To me Anne is the image of optimism.  She dreamed she could accomplish anything she set her mind to and she would strive to reach those aspirations.  Anne Shirley to this day is still a charming, delightful, and unforgettable character in the world of literary characters.  This is especially true for me and for all of the other “kindred spirits!”  By the way, Anne was mentioned the most!

Here now is the grandiose compilation of literary fictional characters.  If you didn’t get a chance to submit your character, please feel free to leave a comment below.

 Enjoy the list and Happy Reading!

Anne ShirleyAnne of Green Gables by L.M. Montgomery

Arnold (Junior) SpiritThe Absolutely True Story of a Part-Time Indian by Sherman Alexie

Atticus FinchTo Kill a Mockingbird – by Harper Lee (second most recommended)

Billy Coleman Where the Red Fern Grows by Wilson Rawls

BuddyA Christmas Memory by Truman Capote

Emma Woodhouse Emma by Jane Austen

HaroldHarold and the Purple Crayon by Crockett Johnson

Heathcliff Wuthering Heights by Emily Bronte

Huckleberry FinnThe Adventures of Huckleberry Finn by Mark Twain

Jo March Little Women by Louisa May Alcott

Ishmael Moby Dick by Herman Melville

Jay GatsbyThe Great Gatsby by F. Scott Fitzgerald (also second most recommended)

Judy BoltonThe Judy Bolton Mystery Series by Margaret Sutton

Lisbeth SalanderThe Girl with the Dragon Tattoo Trilogy by Stieg Larsson

Lucy The Lion, the Witch, and the Wardrobe by C.S. Lewis

Maniac MageeManiac Magee – by Jerry Spinelli

Monkey GodJourney to the West by Anthony C. Yu

PigeonDon’t Let the Pigeon Drive the Bus by Mo Willems

Scarlett O’HaraGone With the Wind by Margaret Mitchell

Scout FinchTo Kill a Mockingbird by Harper Lee

StargirlStargirl by Jerry Spinelli

T.S. GarpThe World According to Garp by John Irving

TiggerWinnie the Pooh by A.A. Milne

Tom SawyerThe Adventures of Tom Sawyer by Mark Twain

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

