Review and Book Giveaway Contest of Michelle Zink’s, Guardian of the Gate (Prophecy of the Sisters, Book 2)

Guardian of the Gate (Prophecy of the Sisters, Book 2), by Michelle Zink

Guardian of the Gate (Prophecy of the Sisters, #2) 

“Just be sure you want to bring this to its conclusion,” she says, “Because when you do, when it’s all over for good, one of us will be dead.” (Guardian of the Gate)

Not quite the conversation you would expect from twin sisters! These sisters are in for the battle of their lives!

My love of gothic genre first drew my attention to, Prophecy of the Sisters, Book 1, by Michelle Zink. Add fantasy to the mix, superb writing, fabulous description, and Michelle Zink created a bestselling Young Adult book creating a fan base savoring for more. I was very well pleased as the sequel unfolded! As with Prophecy of the Sisters, Guardian of the Gate, held my attention! I became quite engrossed with the continuing story! The book sprang to life so much so I could vividly picture many of encounters and conflicts!

The year is 1891 and the setting is England complete with castles, manors, and legends.  Guardian of the Gate, Book 2, begins with sixteen-year-old Lia Milthorpe pursuing the missing pages to bring an end to the prophecy which has engulfed her family and others for many years.  Lia and Alice’s parents and brother are now dead, all due to circumstances surrounding the prophecy. This prophecy has turned Lia and her twin sister, Alice, against each other.  Alice has evil plans for the prophecy which puts the sisters at odds. Alice is also in pursuit of the missing pages. Alice is the Guardian and Lia is the Gate of the prophecy. In the past, the Gate has been the enemy but now it is the Guardian!

With the help of her father’s friend, Edmund, Lia’s mission is to secure the lost pages needed to end the prophecy and to find the two remaining lost keys. Their goal is to reach the hidden island of Altus.  Hopefully there they will find answers to the missing pages they so desperately need to find.  Along with her on the journey Lia is also accompanied by Sonia Sorrensen and Luisa Torelli, who are two of the keys to the prophecy and also bear the Jorgumand mark on their wrists. They were all born at midnight on November 1, 1874.

Adventures ensue as the story intensifies on their journey to the island of Altus. The powerful Grigori dominate and keep order in the Otherworlds. The Grigori have driven Alice out because she continues to defy and reject their rules. Lia and her group of travelers are chased and pursued by the Hellhounds, an evil wolf pack. Lia at times isn’t sure whom she should trust at times. One member of her group is sent by the Grigori to protect her. His name is Dimitri Markov. He is handsome, alluring, and Lia is quite attracted to him. He plays an integral part in the story as it progresses.

As the tale continues to develop, Lia learns more secrets about her parents and the part they played in the unfolding tale of the prophecy. Lia discovers the importance of their family lineage as it pertains to the prophecy. Through her Aunt Abigail, Lia realizes where she must go, “Chartres,” to uncover the missing pages. Lia is determined to continue and establish her rightful position with the Sisterhood.  Dimitri is by Lia’s side to help her to reach her goal.  Will she find what she’s looking for to uncover all of her answers to finally bring an end to the prophecy? Will Lia be able to find the last two keys needed?  By the end of the book you will be on pins and needles to find out if Lia is powerful enough to win out in the end. Her sister Alice has the evil forces on her side to combat Lia.  There can only be one sister left standing. Which one will it be? I can’t wait to uncover the answers to these questions in the final book of the trilogy!!!

Read below for the details of my very first book giveaway!

Prophecy of the Sisters (Prophecy of the Sisters, #1) 

Guardian of the Gate (Prophecy of the Sisters, #2)
I am so happy to announce, now is your opportunity to win copies of Michelle Zink’s books, Prophecy of the Sisters AND Guardian of the Gate, here at my blog! The contest runs through August 1st with the winner announced on August 4th in conjunction with the release of Guardian of the Gate. Leave a comment letting me know the name of your favorite heroine from a gothic or fantasy book, along with your email so I can contact the random winner.  If you don’t win a copy, remember you can purchase Guardian of the Gate through Amazon, Borders, Barnes & Noble, or your favorite independent bookstore, like Anderson’s Bookshop in Naperville. It would be fantastic to really push to buy Michelle’s book between the dates of  August 4th through the 10th. Wouldn’t it be wonderful if her avid fans were instrumental in helping Guardian of the Gate make the List for Chapter Books?! Share with your friends to do the same!

I must say I’m now anxiously awaiting Book 3 of Prophecy of the Sisters!

22 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

22 responses to “Review and Book Giveaway Contest of Michelle Zink’s, Guardian of the Gate (Prophecy of the Sisters, Book 2)

  1. jpetroroy

    I’m a sucker for Jane Eyre, but also loved Gemma Doyle, from Libba Bray’s A Dark and Terrible Beauty trilogy.

    • Congratulations Jennifer!!
      You are the lucky winner of my book give-away for the newly released Guardian of the Gate(Book 2 of Prophecy of the Sisters) AND Book 1: Prophecy of the Sisters. I’ll be emailing you shortly as to how you’d like Michelle to sign the books for you!

  2. *potter puppet pals* Hermione….(Ron) Hermione

    *ahem*

    Thanks for the giveaway! 😀

    cc932005[at]hotmail[dot]com

  3. Yelena, the magical poison taster, introduced in POISON STUDY by Maria V. Snyder. I especially love the first two books in this series.
    ljscheer@inreach.com

    I’m sure I’ll think of more later but POISON/MAGIC STUDY are definitely at the top of my fave list.

  4. I have to confess that I read only some parts of your review because, since I didn’t read the Prophecy of Sisters book, and your review is about the second book, it may be complicated for me to understand 🙂
    I’m desperatedly looking forward these books! I wanna read them so badly! :S
    Okay! Let’s think about…
    Hummm, I like Wanda, from The Host, pretty much! She’s very kind and affectionate that is almost impossible don’t like her.
    But then, there is Rose, from Vampire Academy, that is very brave and nice. I like her too.
    That’s it!
    My e-mail: happymusic_@hotmail.com
    or, you can contact me in this other: thayna(dot)fmp(at)hotmail(dot)com
    😀
    Good lucky for me! \o/
    Kisses :*
    Thayná.

  5. Marcie

    I really liked Ayla, the heroine of the Clan of the Cave Bear series. I would never have believed that I’d enjoy these prehistoric novels as much as I did. Valley of the Horses is my favorite.

  6. anthy

    I think I love Alanna of Tortall from the Lioness Quartet by Tamora Pierce the best. Though there are so many great heroines in fantasy lit that it’s hard to choose!

    Thank you very much for the giveaway – I’d love to read these. 🙂

    anthy_stl [ATT] yahoo [DOTT] com

  7. Lora Wiedenheft

    My favorite heroine is Mary ann Gray frm the book intertwined by gena showalter. She has the courage to face her issues head on. I dont want to give it away incase you havent read it. But she has the courage and the strenth to make decisions in the right direction even when she finds the truth. She faces it with a courage i wish i had 🙂

  8. Recently I’ve been reading the Looking Glass Series and I just adore Alyss Heart. I’m also just reading Prophecy of the Sisters and I love Lia & James (so cute!).

  9. My favorite fantasy heroine…ahh…so many! I’ll stick with either Crystal (from Tanya Huff’s “Wizard of the Grove” duology) or Yelena (from Maria V. Snyder’s “Poison Study” books).

    Though I’ll toss in Lee (from Moira J. Moore’s “Resenting the Hero” books) as well because she has to put up with a lot…

    Lexie C.
    Lexie.Cenni@gmail.com

  10. Sorry, I’m not sure my 1st comment was posted, but if it was you can just ignore this. Right now I’m reading the Looking Glass Trilogy and I really like Alyss Heart.

  11. Aik

    My favorite heroine from a fantasy book is Katsa from Graceling by Kristin Cashore.

  12. Noemi

    My favorite heroine is Rose Hathaway from Vampire Academy by Richelle Mead.

Leave a Reply

