“Summertime, And The Livin’ Is Easy…”

This song, from Porgy and Bess, always comes to mind with the onset of summer break. Life tends  to slow down just a bit for me. Early mornings enjoying the birds and the wildlife while sipping our coffee or the late afternoons when it’s about that time to unwind and relax from the summer day’s activities are those moments of summer I treasure.  Most of all, summer gives me the time to devour all of those books I’ve been anxiously waiting to read.  No more having to wait until late in the evening after a busy day in the library – I can read whenever I want to!! So now that summer has arrived I have compiled my list of summer reads.  After deliberating what to put on this list, these are the ones I can hopefully read.  Over the years I’ve always shared my list with my friends and co-workers and now I’d like to share my newest list with all of you! Keep this list handy so when you enter a bookstore, library, or have your Kindle, iPad, Nook, (or whatever is your choice) you’ll think of my list as a handy guide!  Stay in touch and let me know if you’ve enjoyed any of these. Happy reading during this laid back time of year!

Abraham Lincoln: Vampire HunterAbraham Lincoln: Vampire Hunter, by Seth Grahame-Smith

Ash Ash, by Malinda Lo

Bad Girls Don't Die Bad Girls Don’t Die, by Katie Alendar

Beautiful Creatures (Caster Chronicles, #1)Beautiful Creatures (Caster Chronicles, #1), by Kami Garcia & Margaret Stohl

Blockade BillyBlockade Billy, by Stephen King

BloodrootBloodroot, by Amy Greene

Catching Fire (Hunger Games, #2) Catching Fire (Book #2, The Hunger Games Trilogy), by Suzanne Collins

The Darkest RoomThe Darkest Room, by Johan Theorin

Every Last OneEvery Last One, by Anna Quindlen

The First RuleThe First Rule, by Robert Crais

Guardian of the Gate (Prophecy of the Sisters, #2)Guardian of the Gate (Prophecy of the Sisters Trilogy, Book 2), by Michelle Zink

The Girl Who Fell From the SkyThe Girl Who Fell From the Sky, by Heidi W. Durrow

The Good ThiefThe Good Thief, by Hannah Tinti

The Hand That First Held Mine The Hand That First Held Mine, by Maggie O’Farrell

The Handbook for Lightning Strike Survivors: A Novel The Handbook for Lightning Strike Survivors, by Michele Young-Stone

How to Say Goodbye in Robot How to Say Goodbye in Robot, by Natalie Standiford (Currently Reading!)

The Hunger Games (Hunger Games, #1) The Hunger Games (Book #1 of The Hunger Games Trilogy), by Suzanne Collins

I Heart You, You Haunt MeI Heart You, You Haunt Me, by Lisa Schroeder (Just Finished It!)

A Homemade Life: Stories and Recipes from My Kitchen Table A Homemade Life: Stories and Recipes from My Kitchen Table, by Molly Wizenberg

Imago (Tales from the East, Book 2) IMAGO (Book #3 A Warrior’s Tale), by L.T. Suzuki

The Kitchen House The Kitchen House, by Kathleen Grissom

The Last Fix The Last Fix, by K.O. Dahl

The Little Stranger The Little Stranger, by Sarah Waters

The Lost Summer of Louisa May Alcott The Lost Summer of Louisa May Alcott, by Kelly O’Connor McNees

Major Pettigrew's Last Stand Major Pettigrew’s Last Stand, by Helen Simonson

The Murderer's Daughters The Murderer’s Daughters, by Randy Susan Meyers

One Minute to Midnight, by  Michael Dobbs

The Physick Book of Deliverance Dane The Physick Book of Deliverance Dane, by Katherine Howe

The Queen of Bedlam The Queen of Bedlam, by Robert McCammon

Radium Halos: A Novel about the Radium Dial Painters Radium Halos: A Novel About the Radium Dial Painters, by Shelley Stout

Remarkable Creatures Remarkable Creatures, by Tracy Chevalier

The Shadow of the Wind The Shadow of the Wind, by Carolos Ruiz Zafon

The Story Sisters The Story Sisters, by Alice Hoffman

Tethered: A Novel Tethered, by Amy Mackinnon

The Three Weissmanns of Westport The Three Weissmanns of Westport, by Cathleen Schine

Tomato Girl Tomato Girl, by Jayne Pupek

Under This Unbroken Sky Under This Unbroken Sky, by Shandi Mitchell

The Wednesday LettersThe Wednesday Letters, by Jason F. Wright

When Will There Be Good News? When Will There Be Good News?, by Kate Atkinson

White Cat (Curse Workers, #1) White Cat (Curse Workers, Book 1), by Holly Black

21 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

21 responses to ““Summertime, And The Livin’ Is Easy…”

  1. Thanks for the list, Kath – so excited to see that Michelle’s Zink’s second book will be released soon.

    Some great ideas here…to add to my growing list (thanks to the Hay Festival). On my summer booklist:
    “Charming Billy” – Alice McDermott
    “A Sunday at the Pool in Kigali” – Gil Courtemanche
    “Possible Side Effects” Augusten Burroughs
    “The White Tiger” – Aravind Adiga
    “Run” – Ann Patchett
    “Men from Boys” – Tony Parsons
    “Sarah’s Key” – Tatiana de Rosnay
    “Beatrice and Virgil” – Yann Martel
    “Notes from a Big Country” – Bill Bryson
    (and those are just the nightstand books…more on the Kindle)
    Eager to hear what your fav on your list turn out to be!!!!

    • Thanks Cuz!
      I like your list as well. Some I’ve already read – I’m awaiting Michelle’s book. Can’t wait to see what she has in store for the twins!
      Kathy

    • Hi Jenn!
      Michelle Zink’s second book, Guardian of the Gate, is in the mail to me! Can’t wait to get my hands on it! I like your list. I’ve read, Run, and also, Sarah’s Key. I’ve posted on my blog my book club’s discussion of it a couple of months ago. I loved it! I know, The White Tiger, was on several “best book lists” recently, so I’m curious as to your take on it.
      I’ll let you know what I thought was my all-time favorite book from my list at the end of the summer.
      Check back again Cuz!
      Kathy

  2. Thanks for the shout-out!

    Soooooo many good books and so little time. I have a bag full of library books… reading a lot of good non-fiction this year in addition to great YA!

    • Thanks for visiting my blog! My goal is to get all of these read!! Hope so! Summer is the time for me to go on a reading frenzy.
      Kathy

    • Hi Katie,
      I am totally engrossed right now in your book, Bad Girls Don’t Die!!! I love the story of the ghost lurking around the fringes in the house. I’m curious as to the story of “the ghost” and the part it plays with Kacey and the impact it has on her sister, Alexis. Glad I chose it to read!!!
      Thank you for visiting my blog as well!
      Kathy

  3. michellezinkbooks

    Wow! I’m incredibly honored to be in such incredible company! Thank you so much for the Guardian of the Gate love.

    MZ

    • Thanks Michelle! You are a wonderful storyteller! There are many people I know who can’t wait to read your next book! Nice!
      Kathy

    • You’re welcome Michelle!
      You are quite popular! There are many besides myself who can’t wait for the release of Guardian of the Gate! If you happened to notice in my comments, my cousin, Jenn, has it on her list to read!
      Good luck – even though you won’t need it!
      Kathy

  4. Love this list! If you like literary memoir, you might like BLOOD STRANGERS by Katherine Briccetti. (I know her well!)

    • Thank you! Glad you liked my list. Just read about Blood Strangers by Katherine Briccetti.(Is it you?!) Looks very interesting. I haven’t read a memoir in a while. I’ll have to pick it up. Thank you for sharing!
      Kathy

  5. Woo! Awesome pics! Love Sarah Waters, Michelle Zink, Shelley Stout, and Tracey Chevalier. However, you’re missing a great summer read: check out Sara Backer’s AMERICAN FUJI. It’s funny, touching, smart, and adventurous. Enjoy!!

    • Glad you liked many of the books I included in my list! I’ll take a look at Sara Backer’s, American Fuji. Haven’t run across it yet.
      Thanks for sharing and also for visiting my blog!
      Happy Reading!
      Kathy

  6. (I meant ‘picks’! lol)

  7. the5thlineproject

    Great list. Several of these are on my summer list, plus a stack of about 20 others! My “must reads” this summer include:

    Devil in the White city by Erik Larsen
    Forget-Her-Nots by Amy Brecount White
    The Summer We Read Gatsby by Danielle Ganek
    The Summer of Skinny Dipping by Amanda Howells
    Memoirs of a Wannabe Sex Addict by Julia Morizawa

    • Thanks for sharing some of your summer reads with me! Devil In the White City, is one of my all-time favorite books!! It was so well written and I enjoyed how the two stories were intertwined – the Chicago World’s Fair and the serial killer H.H. Holmes. I also learned so much about Chicago. Since I don’t live to far from there it was great to discover more history about Chicago.
      Thanks for visiting my blog! Also, let me know which of YOUR summer reads turned out to be your favorite!
      Kathy

  8. Oooh, good stuff! I loved Major Pettigrew’s Last Stand and The Good Thief was one of those books I randomly “found” on the new book shelf last year and felt like I’d discovered a treasure! I’m also planning to read The Little Stranger and Bloodroot. I believe @cindymilleratl and I talked about both Bloodroot and Major Pettigrew as well…

    • Hi Susan!
      Thank you for visiting my blog! I feel the same way when I’ve discovered that book(s) which are truly gems! I’m sure what you had to say about Major Pettigrew and Bloodroot helped me in my decision to read them.
      I’ve been reading a few YA books right now. I really enjoyed, I Heart You You Haunt Me, by Lisa Schroeder. I’m about half-way through, Bad Girls Don’t Die, by Katie Alender – it’s excellent!
      Kathy

  9. Great List, Kathy! I’ve read Bloodroot, Tomato Girl, The Murderer’s Daughters, and Tethered — loved them.

    Happy reading!

    • Hi Beth,
      Thanks for sharing with me what you’ve already read. Almost finished with Abraham Lincoln, Vampire Hunter – so I’ll be checking for the next book to read from my list.
      Take care,
      Kathy

Leave a Reply

