Reflections From 8th Graders: “Why I Will Remember This Book.”

As an end of the year writing prompt, I asked the teachers in grades 4-8 to have their students choose their favorite book they read this past school.  It was my hope to share this with you who have children and are looking for some good books to share with them.  Books can make a lasting impression on us. Just as posed the question to many adults for my National Book Week blog, they all came up with a title which impacted their life. Since our 8th graders will be leaving us shortly, I thought I’d share their favorite book read during this past school year first.  Throughout my post I’ve shared some of the student responses as to why they liked the book.  Thank you to Mr. Novario and his 8th grade students!  

Good luck in high school and all you strive to accomplish throughout your lives!

Al Capone Does My Shirts, by Gennifer Choldenko – submitted by Aaron P.

Anne Frank, The Diary of a Young Girl, by Anne Frank – submitted by – Erik W. and Zach B.

Ark Angel (Alex Rider, #6), by Anthony Horowitz – submitted by – Trevin S. “This book was one of the best books that I read this year because it was action packed and it kept my attention!”

Band of Brothers, by Stephen Ambrose – submitted by – Nathan M.

Before I Die, by Jenny Downham – submitted by – Lexi: “This book is all time favorite book!  There’s a lot of drama, conflicts, and situations that are relative to other people’s lives.  It makes me wonder what I would do if I had cancer and someone told me I had such amount of time to live. I LOVE this book!”

The Boy in the Striped Pajamas, by John Boyne – submitted by: Brenden F.  “While I was reading the book I felt like I was in the book and that I was there during that time.  This is the first time I felt I was really in a book.”

Bad Girls Don’t Die, by Katie Alender – submitted by – Katie L.: “I will remember this book because I am really interested in horror and mystery type things.  This book was really pretty creepy and I just got into it!”

Brian’s Hunt, by Gary Paulsen – submitted by – Nate S.

Catcher in the Rye, by J.D. Salinger – submitted by – Emily A. “It is a good young adult book about growing up and being a teenager.  Holden Caulfield is a very memorable character.”

Chasing Brooklyn, by Lisa Schroeder – submitted by – Leah B.

The Compound, by S.A. Bodeen – submitted by – Kyle O.

Dragon Slippers, by Jessica Day George – submitted by – Jason W.

Flush, by Carl Hiaasen – submitted by – Austin A.

The Glass Castle, by Jeannette Walls – submitted by – Savannah B.: “It was such a depressing and memorable book.  I’ll also remember it because I hope I never have to experience it.”

The Giver, by Lois Lowry – submitted by Dillon J.

How to Say Goodbye in Robot, by Natalie Standiford – submitted by – Brooke L.: “I will remember it because in the book Jonah has a twin brother he’s never met and he never gave up trying to find him.  I will never give up trying to work towards something.”

Heather Wells Mystery Series, by Meg Cabot – submitted by – Melissa S.: “The series was a really realistic romance, murder mystery and I really couldn’t stop reading it.  It was kind of a girl book, yet it was very great!”

I Heart You, You Haunt Me – by Lisa Schroeder – submitted by – Janet C.: “I’ll remember it because this book is about people dying and haunting his girlfriend.  Something like that I won’t forget because it’s hard to.”   Also submitted by – Shawna B.   Also submitted by – Starrleann S.: “I will remember this book because she lost her boyfriend and he was still with her even when he died.  He stayed with her because she felt guilty for him dying and he didn’t want her to feel that way.  Also she was trying to move on but couldn’t because Jackson was haunting her.  She wanted him to move on to the different life…it made me cry.”

If I Stay, by Gayle Forman – submitted by – Emilie L.: “It was the book I read on the Kindle and it was a good book with a good message.  It was a book that actually made me want to keep reading it.”

Impulse, by Ellen Hopkins – submitted by – Laini K.: “I will always remember the book, Impulse, because I believe that almost half of the teenagers in the world can relate to conflicts and problems that went on in this story such as having parents who are sick of you, who don’t listen to you, or sometimes ignore you which leads to causing harm to your to yourself whether it’s physical or emotional pain.  I’m not saying everyone goes through this, but even if it’s not as severe as what happens in, Impulse, we all have our ups and downs.”   Also submitted by – Brittney D.: “I will remember the book, Impulse, because it was different than any other book.  There were tons of surprises that I didn’t suspect.  I also liked the characters.  It was a very intense book but also really good.”

The Last Olympian (Percy Jackson & the Olympians, Book 5), by Rick Riordan – submitted by – Ben B. and Daniel N.

The Last Song, by Nicholas Sparks –submitted by – Rachel T.: “The Last Song was very moving.  Ronnie was rebellious, which is something I can’t imagine ever being.  The love story you would imagine it being between is two teenagers, but it really is between a father and his daughter.  It makes it more loving when the father is dying and the daughter hasn’t spoken to him much in three years because of false information she believed.  I bawled.”

Lisa’s War, by Carol Matas – submitted by – Robert A.

The Lonely Hearts Club, by Elizabeth Eulberg – submitted by – Anna B.: “It was a very fun book to read!  I really got into it and couldn’t put it down.  The characters in the book were going through the same situations I am.  Also, the plot was out of the ordinary and interesting to read.”

Never Die Easy: The Autobiography of Water Payton, by Walter Payton – submitted by – Bobby M.

Night, by Elie Wiesel – submitted by – Jacob C. & Dean B.

Numbers, by Rachel Ward – submitted by – Courtney B.

Of Mice and Men, by John Steinbeck – submitted by – Jacquelyn N.: “It was a heartwarming story about two men and their journey of finding and keeping jobs on ranches during a time near the Great Depression. This book was also adventurous.  The part of the book that I will remember most is the very end because it was very surprising. (We are not to give away the ending of books!)

Playing With the Enemy: A Baseball Prodigy, a World at War, and a Field of Broken Dreams, by Gary W. Moore – submitted by – Luke S.

Ranger’s Apprentice: The Siege of Macindaw: Book 6, by John Flanagan – submitted by – Ethan T.

Remembering the Good Times, by Richard Peck – submitted by – Ana M.

Shift, by Jennifer Bradbury – submitted by – T.J.D.

Someone Named Eva, by Joan M. Wolf – submitted by – Nick H.

Slam, by Nick Hornby – submitted by – Angel A.

Snatched (Bloodwater Series), by Pete Hautman – submitted by -Mickey J. “The reason why I will remember this book is because it had a great and action filled entrance and exposition.  Another reason why I like it is because it was a really suspenseful book and I never wanted to put it down.  It was so good and well written.  I am really into action, adventure, and mystery books and this book really was all of them.  I really enjoyed it. I would definitely recommend it to anyone and I’ll read it many more times.”

That Was Then, This is Now, by S.E. Hinton – submitted by – Sarah R., Alex B., & Tommy L.

Thirteen Reasons Why, by Jay Asher – submitted by Danielle M.

Traegonia: The Sunbow Prophecy, by K.S. Krueger – submitted by – Tia M.

Watch You Bleed:  The Saga of Guns and Roses, by Stephen Davis – submitted by – Kyle B.

What My Mother Doesn’t Know, by Sonya Sones – submitted by – Rylee A.

Willow Run, by Patricia Reilly Giff – submitted by – Starlee R.: “I liked the book because the girl and her family move so far away from their grandpa and leave their homes for the war effort.  They do all this waiting for the main character, Meggie Dillon’s brother, Eddie, to return home from the war.”

White Fang, by Jack London – submitted by – Lucas A.: “This book had adventure, action, and lessons learned throughout the entire book.  There was never a dull moment in the book.” Also submitted by – Alex C.

World War Z: An Oral History of the Zombie War, by Max Brooks – Submitted by – Tyler W. & Evan F.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

