“Mother, Madre, Maman, Mutter, Moeder, Okaasan, Matka, & Mama”

Mother all over the world is pronounced and spelled in many ways, but they all mean the same.  There will be countless and various ways each and every one of us will celebrate Mother’s Day. Whether you will be together to honor your mother, or if you’re separated by miles, or remembering her in spirit, it will be your desire to make Mother’s Day special no matter what.

I’d like to take a moment to reflect on why my own Mother is so special to me. I am so fortunate to still have my Mother.  She is a friend, confidant, sounding board – in her words, “not that I’d interfere”- and a strong role model for me. I must give her credit for suggesting to me to become a librarian. She instilled my love for reading at a very young age. I still remember her reading from many books, but especially when she would get out the Childcraft volume of poetry!  I knew there were many poems she would be reading. My favorite was, Antonio, by Laura E. Fields.  To this day I can recite it by heart.  Thank you Mom for all you have done for me and how you prepared me for life’s bumps in the road. I admire you and reflecting back at my youth, I am in awe of what you accomplished.  Thank you and I love you!  The quote below brings you to mind!

“You may have tangible wealth untold;

Caskets of jewels and coffers of gold.

Richer than I you can never be –

I had a mother who read to me.”  ~Strickland Gillilan (Thanks, Laurel)

There are many books for all ages which the central theme has to do with mothers. I posed the question, which mother came to mind in fiction and many said, Marmie, from Little Women, by Louisa May Alcott. My husband said Mother Goose and her nursery rhymes is one in particular most children are first introduced to. The following books are ones that readily came to mind to me. I’ve mentioned titles for all ages. You might discover Young Adult books tend to view mothers who have problems and how the teen copes with their mother’s flaw. Many you have probably read but hopefully you’ll discover an incredible new read!

Children’s Books:

Are You My Mother? (Beginner Books)    Are You My Mother by, P.D. Eastman

 Brave Irene (Sunburst Books)   Brave Irene, by William Steig

Llama Llama Mad at Mama  
Llama Llama Mad At Mama, by Anna Dewdney

Love You Forever  Love You Forever, by Robert Munsch

Mars Needs Moms!    Mars Needs Moms, by Berkeley Breathed

Mr. Rabbit and the Lovely Present    Mr. Rabbit and the Lovely Present, by Charlotte Zolotow

My Mama Says There Aren't Any Zombies, Ghosts, Vampires, Demons, Monsters, Fiend (My Mama Says There Arent Any CL)    My Mama Says There Aren’t Any Zombies, Ghosts, Vampires, Demons, Monsters, Fiend, by Judith Viorst

Middle Grades:

Betty Doll    Betty Doll, by Patricia Polacco

Journey   Journey, by Patricia MacLachlan

The Mother-Daughter Book Club (The Mother-Daughter Book Club, #1)    Mother-Daughter Book Club, by Heather Vogel Frederick

Ramona and Her Mother (Ramona Quimby (Paperback))   Ramona and her Mother, by Beverly Cleary

 So B. It    So B. It, by Sarah Weeks

Young Adult:

Little Women, by Louisa May Alcott

 My Mother the Cheerleader   My Mother the Cheerleader, by Robert Sharenow

This Lullaby   This Lullaby, by Sarah Dessen

Adult:

Away: A Novel    Away, by Amy Bloom

Come Back: A Mother and Daughter's Journey Through Hell and Back   Come Back: A Mother and Daughter’s Journey Through Hell and Back, by Claire Fontaine, Mia Fontaine

 The Diary  The Diary , by Eileen Goudge

 Divine Secrets of the Ya-Ya Sisterhood  Divine Secrets of the Ya -Ya sisterhood, by Rebecca Wells

 The Heretic's Daughter  The Heretic’s Daughter, by Kathleen Kent

One True Thing: A Novel    One True Thing, by Anna Quindlen

 Saving Ceecee Honeycutt  Saving CeeCee Honeycutt, by Beth Hoffman

The Story Sisters    The Story Sisters, by Alice Hoffman

 Those Who Save Us    Those Who Save Us, by Jenna Blum

 The Three Weissmanns of Westport  The  Three Weissmanns of Westport, by Cathleen Schine 

Happy Reading & Happy Mother’s Day to all of you!

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

