A Superb Book to Read: Saving CeeCee Honeycutt, by Beth Hoffman

A Superb Book to Read: Saving CeeCee Honeycutt, by Beth Hoffman

I first heard of this book via Twitter. After reading a few reviews I knew this book was one I definitely had to read! Amazon compared it to “Steel Magnolias meets The Help!” That comment sold me as well. The author, Beth Hoffman, shares a CeeCee Honeycutt’s young life story with us and it’s one you won’t easily forget! You will laugh, cry, and be awestruck by what CeeCee has to endure as young girl of twelve.

CeeCee is caring for her mother, Camille, who is mentally unstable and the laughing stock of the town. Her father cannot handle the difficulties Camille’s illness so he is absent much of the time. Just when you think CeeCee can bear no more, her mother is killed by an oncoming truck as she crosses the street.

Enter, CeeCee’s great-aunt, Tootie Caldwell, to take her to live with her in Savannah, Georgia. During her summer in Savannah, CeeCee’s life is suddenly transformed for the good. There are many women who enter her life, for one, Tootie’s wise housekeeper, Oletta Jones, who becomes a friend and confidant to CeeCee.  She decides early on which of Tootie’s unusual neighbors, Thelma Rae Goodpepper and Violene Hobbs, is trustworthy and enjoyable and which one is prejudicial and unpleasant. CeeCee has lost her mother, but through this loss, gains a wealth of love from some wonderful women! I must say, I laughed until I cried, while I read one particular episode in the book! I won’t give it away but it has to do with a camera and a brassiere –hilarious!!!

You will be touched and affected by CeeCee’s innermost thoughts, her favorite books, feelings, opinions, and most of all her, “Life Book!”  My favorite quote from the book: “Life is full of change, honey. That’s how we learn and grow. When we’re born, the Good Lord gives each of us a Life Book. Chapter by chapter, we live and learn.” (Saving CeeCee Honeycutt, Beth Hoffman)

Thank you Beth Hoffman for sharing a part of CeeCee’s  life with us!

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “A Superb Book to Read: Saving CeeCee Honeycutt, by Beth Hoffman

  1. I just reviewed this book myself and couldn’t say enough great things about it! I can’t wait to see what Beth Hoffman does next. What a brilliant writer. I agree the scene you mention was hilarious but I also laughed out loud at the slugs!! hahaha Miz Goodpepper and Miz Hobbs reminded me of Weezer and Clairee in Steel Magnolias.

    • Kathy

      Glad you enjoyed CeeCee as much as I did! Yes, the part with the slugs was very funny!! Many of my friends and co-workers are now reading it. Thanks for visiting my blog!
      Kathy

Leave a Reply

