Launching a 2nd Grade Kindle Pilot Program

Cover of "Thanksgiving on Thursday (Magic...

Cover via Amazon

Based on the success of our middle school Kindle program (each of our 8th grade students now have their own Kindle to use for their Literature class plus our 7th graders are using Kindles in their Literature class as well) I had wanted to see how we could use the Kindles in the lower grades.

I recently read in, The Reading Teacher Magazine, an article written by Lotta C. Larson, “Digital Readers: The Next Chapter in E-Book Reading and Response.”  I did a bit of searching to see what else she had written and found at ReadWriteThink an excellent lesson plan she had written!  The lesson plan was for grades 2-4.  The name of the lesson was: “Going Digital: Using e-Book Readers to Enhance the Reading Experience.”  It was like I had discovered GOLD!!  Following the proper channels, it was decided we would pilot this program in the K-4 building using this lesson plan with a group of 5 second grade students.

After a few meetings with the second grade teacher, she recommended using the ebook, Thanksgiving on Thursday, part of the Magic Tree House Series, by Mary Pope Osborne.

It was a very exciting day when we introduced the Kindle pilot program with these 5 students!  Prior to my teaching lesson with the students, their teacher gave them a brief orientation over the past three days.  You should have seen their bright eager faces!

The main teaching ideas and hands-on experiences I taught these students were the following:

1. Turning on the device.

2. Familiarizing the students with the Home Screen.

3. How to access the book from the Home Screen.

4. Discussed the Location Feature and how it was different from “pages in a book.”

5. How to use the Font Size Feature.

6. How to use the Dictionary Feature.

7. How to use the Highlighting Feature.

Once all of this orientation was done the 5 students read teh first page to themselves.  After they were done reading I asked each of them what they thought which sentences sentences wer were going to highlight and why.  After the highlighting was completed, I had them go back to the Home Screen.  At the Home Screen I pointed out the “My Clippings” which was now added.  I asked them to use the five way cursor to open up “My Clippings.”  I had them read what was mentioned.  They noticed the title of the book, the sentences they had highlighted, the day and time they had been highlighted, and the location of the highlighted sentences.

The lesson took us approximately 35 minutes to complete.

I asked each of the students to tell me what they liked most using the Kindle.  Here were their responses:

 I liked the highlighting feature!”

 “I liked reading on the Kindle!”

 “I liked that I could change the font size!”

 “I learned that it was a small computer!”

 “I liked the highlighting feature too!”

The December issue of School Library Journal featured our 2nd Grade Pilot Kindle Program in this article by Lauren Barack, A Kindle Program of Their Own: Second graders try out ereaders, courtesy of librarian Kathy Parker.

6 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

6 responses to “Launching a 2nd Grade Kindle Pilot Program

  1. This is such a cool program! Wow — my husband just got a Kindle — we’re a little behind :) So neat!

  2. I love this! When I read stuff like this it makes me wish I was an elementary teacher (I am a library trainer) or in school again! Did you purchase the books for the Kindles?

  3. Stormy Vogel

    Hi Kathy,
    Our high school library is very inspired by your Kindle use. We librarians (there are 3 of us!) are proposing to set up a pilot with 6 Kindles. May I use your forms for Kindle usage and modify them for our needs? We are so excited to introduce this technology to our students.
    Sincerely,
    Stormy

  4. Ms. Adams

    I’m so inspired! I’m in the process of starting a Nook program in my elementary school, and it’s SO HARD to find other elementary school libraries that are taking this step. You and Buffy Hamilton are my heroes!

Leave a Reply

