Fifth-Graders’ Share Their Favorite Books of Choice!

Thank you to Mrs. Wallin and all of her fifth-grade students for submitting this list to me to share with all of my readers!  I know you’ll enjoy reading what some of them had to say about the books. I truly liked the variety of titles presented below! They are quite a wonderful group of readers!

11 Birthdays, by Wendy Mass – submitted by – Haley S. “I liked it because it showed what some one else is doing in their life and to see how it is going.  It is cool that two people have a birthday on the same day and they did not think that they would have the birthdays together but they did.  It was cool to read!”

Allie Finkle Series, by Meg Cabot – submitted by – Rachel S. “The reason why I like these books is because I can relate to all the things that happen in all of the stories except the new girl part. I can’t wait for the 6th book in the series!” Also submitted by – Lauren C. “I love these books so much! Meg Cabot is my favorite author.  I don’t like reading but I love these books!”

Because of Winn-Dixie, by Kate DiCamillo – submitted by Madison V.

Blood Red Horse, by K.M. Grant – submitted by – Eva B. “I liked it because there are horses in it.”

Cirque du Freak Series, by Darren Shan – submitted by – Sarah C. “This was my favorite series because they were all very entertaining and I was always excited to read the next book in the series.”  Also submitted by – Chloe P. “It is adventurous and leaves you wanting to read more!”

Closed for the Season, by Mary Downing Hahn – submitted by – Daniel W., Dylan W. and Colton M. “I liked it because I like scary and mystery books.”

The Confession (Fear Street), by R.L. Stine – submitted by – Aaliyah N. “This was my favorite book of the year because my family and I watch Criminal Minds or Law and Order and the book is about murder.  This is R.L. Stine’s best book!”

Diary of a Wimpy Kid (Diary of a Wimpy Kid, Book 1), by Jeff Kinney – submitted by – Maxwell E.

Diary of a Wimpy Kid Series, by Jeff Kinney – submitted by – Kaitlyn K.

The Face on the Milk Carton (Janie Johnson, Book 1), by Caroline Cooney – submitted by – Sarah H. “ This was my favorite book because I love mysteries.”

The Field Guide (The Spiderwick Chronicles, Book 1), by Holly Black – submitted by – Esmeralda C.

Harry Potter Series, by J.K. Rowling – submitted by – Matilda E. “This is my favorite because J.K. Rowling takes you into the books and you can escape reality. I strongly recommend the series!”

Help! I’m a Prisoner in the Library, by Eth Clifford – submitted by – Tom B.

Into the Wild (Warriors #1), by Erin Hunter – submitted by – Madi C.

Killer’s Kiss (Fear Street Series), by R.L. Stine – submitted by – Matthew P.

Maniac Magee, by Jerry Spinelli – submitted by – Greg S. “I liked it because it was full of adventure.” Also submitted by – Collin W. and Carmen T.

Nightjohn, by Gary Paulsen – submitted by – Raquelle D. “It was my favorite book this year that I read because it was telling about what happened back in the old times and I thought it was really interesting.”

The Nixie’s Song (Beyond the Spiderwick Chronicles, #1), by Holly Black

The Perfect Date, by R.L. Stine – submitted by – Alli O.

Ricky Ricotta’s Mighty Robot Vs the Jurassis Jackrabbits from Jupiter, by Dav Pilkey – submitted by – Auston J.

Sadako and the Thousand Paper Cranes, by Eleanor Coerr – submitted by – Malorie P. “I liked this story because it explains what the bomb did to the country of Japan and what the radiation did.  I liked it because of the friendship that started but ended too soon. I liked it also because it is about a girl who has hope.  It is a really touching story.”

Scary Stories to Tell In the Dark, by Alvin Schwartz – submitted by – Joshua B.

Series of Unfortunate Events Series, by Lemony Snicket – submitted by – Sean B.

The Lightning Thief (Percy Jackson and the Olympians, #1), by Rick Riordan – submitted by – Jamie G.

The Top Ten Ways to Ruin the First Day of School, by Kenneth Derby – submitted by – Cole W., Chase M., and Paige H.

Tornado, by Betsy Byars – submitted by – Zach S.

Twilight (Twilight Series, #1), by Stephenie Meyer – submitted by – Kylie M.

The Unfinished Angel, by Sharon Creech – submitted by – Abigail H.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

